Distinguished Communication Alumni Award (DCAA)

Over the years, the School has been playing a significant role in nurturing communication professionals. To show our recognition towards their professional achievements and commitment to the industry/community, the School would like to take this opportunity to honour distinguished alumni, representing different disciplines and decades, over the past 50 years. Nominated alumni was selected on top of the 40 alumni award recipients for the School’s 40th anniversary. The Award was presented at the Gala Dinner held on 30 November, 2018.

DCAA Recipients:

  • Professor Jin Jianbin
  • Dr Angus Cheong
  • Ralph Szeto
  • Zhao Qin
  • Patrick Siu
  • Sophal Bun
  • Dr Mui Kwong Chiu
  • Yee Lam
  • Fung Chih Chiang
  • Ralph Poon
  • Lai Yan Chi
  • Steve Chan
  • Lo Bing Chung
  • Mandy Kwong
  • Angel Cheng
  • Thomas Chan
  • Linda Choy
  • Dominic Lau
  • Ho Chui Ping
  • Mei Wong
  • Josephine Ng
  • Vanessa Piao

Brief Biographies of the 22 Awardees of the Distinguished Communication Alumni Award


Selection Criteria for DCAA

Candidates must be a graduate of the School of Communication (the then Department of Communication) of HKBU.

Candidates must:
  • have recognised professional achievements in the communication industry
  • have made contributions to the community or the alma mater

Criteria for Nominators

Nominators must belong to any ONE of the following groups of the School of Communication of HKBU.

  • an alumnus or alumna
  • a current or former part-time/full-time faculty or staff member
  • a member of the Course Advisory Committee

Each nominator can propose ONLY ONE nominee. The nominator can neither be the nominee himself/herself nor be a member of the Selection Committee.

DCAA 2018 Judges

Dr. Amen NG
Head of Corporate Communications & Standards
Radio Television Hong Kong

Ms. May CHAN
Honorary University Fellow of Hong Kong Baptist University

Mr. Sunny LUK
Renowned Film Director

Professor HUANG Yu
Associate Vice-President and Dean of School of Communication
Hong Kong Baptist University

Mr. C.K. LAU
Associate Dean of School of Communication
Hong Kong Baptist University

Professor Eva MAN
Chair Professor in Humanities and Director of Academy of Film of School of Communication
Hong Kong Baptist University

Professor Kineta HUNG
Head of Department of Communication Studies
Hong Kong Baptist University

Professor Alice LEE
Head of Department of Journalism
Hong Kong Baptist University