The media has always played a vital role in our society. For the past 40 years, the School of Communication has nurtured over 7,000 communication professionals under our motto "Truth is Virtue" and the leadership of our Deans and Heads. As we expanded from a Department into a School, from providing three majors in the beginning – Journalism, Radio-Television and Public Relations – to founding the Department of Journalism, Department of Communication Studies, and Academy of Film, our achievements have been remarkable. The School of Communication is the cradle for local communication elites, and a destination of choice for further studies by students from Greater China.

2000 - 2009

In Pursuit of Excellence

In order to remain up-to-date with best professional pratice, the School organized a number of cutting-edge, large-scale international academic activities and conferences; its programmes are also internationally recognized.


  • The Public Relations Summit Conference organised by the Centre for Media and Communication Research (CMCR) secured top honours in the 2009 Gold Standard Awards (GSA). The CMCR's Summit excelled in the "Leadership and Development" category.

  • The School of Communication launched Asia's first International Multimedia Training Series titled "Ethical Reporting on the World's Most Under-Reported Issues". The series invited the world's leading practitioners of multimedia journalism to share the latest industry developments in multimedia production at lectures and workshops.

  • Bachelor of Social Sciences in Integrated Communication Management opened for enrollment.


  • "2008 Health Communication Series – Enhancing Communication in Health Care" was jointly organised by the Department of Communication Studies and the Hospital Authority.

  • Students from the Department of Journalism had the unique opportunity to gain international experience reporting first-hand from Beijing on the Olympic Games.


  • The 1st Pulitzer Prize Winners Workshop launched as the first workshop of its kind in Asia.

  • Master of Arts in International Journalism Studies opened for enrollment.

  • Institute of Journalism and Society, and International News and Communication Resources Centre established.

  • "The 1st Chang Kuo-sin Award for Young Aspiring Communicators" established.

  • Prof. ZHAO Xinshu became the 4th Dean of the
    School of Communication.


  • Master of Social Sciences in Media Management opened for enrollment as the first programme of its kind in the region.

  • Communication and Society, a quarterly journal, founded jointly by the School of Communication and the School of Journalism and Communication of the Chinese University of Hong Kong.


  • The Public Relations and Advertising programme obtained accreditation from the Public Relations and Advertising Association (IAA). The programme is the first in the Greater China region to secure this accreditation, and graduates can now obtain the IAA Diploma in Marketing Communications. Second from left is Prof. Georgette Wang, the 3rd Dean of the School.


  • Master of Fine Arts in Film, Television and Digital Media opened for enrollment.

  • The Department of Communication offered five options: Organizational Communication, Public Relations and Advertising, Digital Graphic Communication, Journalism and Cinema and Television.


  • Master of Arts (Full time) in Communication opened for enrollment.


  • The Cinema and Television Department held "The 1st University Student Film and TV Award in the Greater China Region".


  • Centre for Media and Communication Research founded.

Communication and Visual Arts Building
5 Hereford Road, Kowloon Tong
Kowloon, Hong Kong

T : 3411 8154
F : 3411 7375
E : comd@hkbu.edu.hk
© 2019 Copyright
School of Communication
Hong Kong Baptist University
All rights reserved

Privacy Policy