The media has always played a vital role in our society. For the past 40 years, the School of Communication has nurtured over 7,000 communication professionals under our motto "Truth is Virtue" and the leadership of our Deans and Heads. As we expanded from a Department into a School, from providing three majors in the beginning – Journalism, Radio-Television and Public Relations – to founding the Department of Journalism, Department of Communication Studies, and Academy of Film, our achievements have been remarkable. The School of Communication is the cradle for local communication elites, and a destination of choice for further studies by students from Greater China.

1960 - 1969

Scarce Resources, Inspired Passions

The Department of Communication was founded offering the first academic discipline of its kind in Hong Kong.


  • "The Young Director", a workshop for Cinema and Television students, was established.


  • The Department of Communication was founded providing three diploma courses: Journalism, Radio-Television and Public Relations. The Communication Society was formed in the same year comprising students from the entire Department. At the time, Oen Hall building served as the main teaching venue for the Department of Communication.

  • Professor Timothy Yu, founding Head of the Department of Communication, explaining the functions of the typesetter.

  • The Young Reporter, an experimental English student newspaper of the Journalism option, was first published in 1968. Sun Po Yan, another experimental student newspaper in Chinese, was published in 1969. They are the longest-standing university student newspapers in Hong Kong.

Communication and Visual Arts Building
5 Hereford Road, Kowloon Tong
Kowloon, Hong Kong

T : 3411 8154
F : 3411 7375
E : comd@hkbu.edu.hk
© 2019 Copyright
School of Communication
Hong Kong Baptist University
All rights reserved

Privacy Policy