The media has always played a vital role in our society. For over 50 years, the School of Communication has nurtured over 10,000 communication professionals under our motto "Truth is Virtue" and the leadership of our Deans and Heads. As we expanded from a Department into a School, from providing three majors in the beginning – Journalism, Radio-Television and Public Relations – to founding the Department of Journalism, Department of Communication Studies, and Academy of Film, our achievements have been remarkable. The School of Communication is the cradle for local communication elites, and a destination of choice for further studies by students from Greater China.

2010 - Now

Keep Abreast of the Times

The School of Communication strives to keep abreast of the times. The newly completed Communication and Visual Arts Building helps the School of Communication advance higher education in communication and media under the new 4-year curriculum.


  • 2018 marks our 50th anniversary!


  • The Centre for Film and Moving Image Research, established by Academy of Film, promotes research into film, the moving image, and also digital humanities.

  • Bachelor of Social Sciences (Honours) in Communication programme was retitled as Bachelor of Communication (Honours) programme.


  • The Timothy Yu Communication Education Fund was established to enhance the teaching and research development of the School of Communication.

  • The School’s long-term collaboration with Leipzig University in Germany and Ohio University in the United States started.

  • The School hosted an international research workshop on Future Science Leaders with participants from HKBU, Leipzig University in Germany, Ohio University in the United States and Zhejiang University in the Mainland.


  • studio-i, launched by the Academy of Film, sets students on the path to fulfill their aspiration in film production.

  • Bachelor of Social Sciences (Honours) in Media and Social Communication was launched.

  • Bachelor of Social Sciences (Honours) in Integrated Communication Management was upgraded from a general degree to an honours degree.


  • The HKBU-SOPA Award Winners Forum was launched by the Department of Journalism.

  • 45th Anniversary Celebration of the School of Communication.

  • “The Best of Times: Picturing Your Campus Memories” Photo Exhibition.

  • The Communication Alumni Association serves as a platform to connect alumni and the School of Communication.

  • Master of Arts (MA) in Producing for Film, Television and New-Media was launched.

  • Prof. HUANG Yu became the 5th Dean of the
    School of Communication.


  • New 4-year curriculum launched. The Majors available in the new 4-year curriculum were:

    • Film and Media Arts (FMA)
    • Journalism (JOUR)
    • Organizational Communication (ORGC)
    • Public Relations and Advertising (PRA)

  • Bachelor of Arts (Honours) in Creative Writing for Film, Television and New Media opened for enrollment.


  • The Communication and Visual Arts Building was completed with
    11 storeys and a net floor area of about 9,000m2, offering comprehensive facilities for students.

  • The Department of Cinema and Television was reorganized and renamed as the Academy of Film, and offering five additional professional Diploma and Higher Diploma programmes.

Communication and Visual Arts Building
5 Hereford Road, Kowloon Tong
Kowloon, Hong Kong

T : 3411 8154
F : 3411 7375
E : comd@hkbu.edu.hk

Find us on Facebook
© 2017 Copyright
School of Communication
Hong Kong Baptist University
All rights reserved

Privacy Policy