Press Releases

Updated: 24 Oct 2014

HKBU to open 6th Pulitzer Prize Winners Workshop and hold “The Public's Right to Know Versus National Security” forum on Tuesday

To advance journalistic education and practice in the Greater China region, the Department of Journalism under the School of Communication of Hong Kong Baptist University (HKBU) has invited seven winners of the US media industry’s most prestigious award, the Pulitzer Prize, to share their insights with University members, students, media professionals and the public at its 6th Pulitzer Prize Winners Workshop from 27 October to 1 November.

The seven Pulitzer Prize winners visiting HKBU this year are Professor David Boardman, Dean of the School of Media and Communication at Temple University in Philadelphia, USA and member of the 2012 winning team for Investigative Reporting; Mr Chris Hamby, 2014 winner for Investigative Reporting; Ms Anne E. Kornblut, member of the 2014 winning team for Public Service; Mr Kurtis Lee, member of the 2013 winning team for Breaking News Reporting; Mr Ewen MacAskill, member of the 2014 winning team for Public Service; Mr Steve Sack, 2013 winner for Editorial Cartooning; and Ms Inga Saffron, 2014 winner for Criticism.

A ceremony will be held on Tuesday to mark the opening of the Workshop. Details are as follows:
Date: 28 October 2014 (Tuesday)
Time: 3:30 pm
Venue: Dr Hari Harilela Lecture Theatre (WLB103), The Wing Lung Bank Building for Business Studies, Shaw Campus (new campus), HKBU, Renfrew Road, Kowloon Tong

Officiating guests:
Mrs Doreen Chan, Treasurer of HKBU Council and Court
Mr Andy Lee, Acting President and Vice-Chancellor, HKBU

Following the opening ceremony, the visitors will participate in a Forum on “The Public’s Right to Know Versus National Security” at 4:15 pm. Members of the media and the public are welcome to join.

The workshop is a unique initiative in Asia. Every two years, four to eight Pulitzer Prize winners are invited to the HKBU campus for a week of academic exchange to enhance the quality of journalistic education and global vision among professional journalists.

You are cordially invited to send reporters/photographers to cover the above events. For details of this year’s visiting winners and other activities, please visit: . For enquiries, members of the public may contact the Department of Journalism of the School of Communication at 3411 5078.


For media enquiries, please contact Patricia Chan of the School of Communication (Tel: 3411 7875/9722 7149).

Lee Shau Kee Communication and
Visual Arts Building
5 Hereford Road, Kowloon Tong
Kowloon, Hong Kong

T : 3411 8154
F : 3411 7375
E :
© 2024 Copyright
School of Communication
Hong Kong Baptist University
All rights reserved

Privacy Policy