Student Life

Life in the School of Communication is vibrant: students learn not only in lectures and tutorials but from practicums, internships, conferences, guest talks, international collaborations, study tours and exchanges outside Hong Kong. Each Concentration of the undergraduate programme has its own workshop, in which students produce experimental newspapers, run a web-based broadcast news station, launch publicity campaigns and organise digital arts exhibitions. Moreover, the Communication Society connects undergraduate students of the School and organizes many exciting activities, such as orientation camp, academic week, sports competition, singing contest and study tour.

At #HKBUCOMM, learning happens everywhere.

Service Learning

Shining a light on local para-athletes through feature stories

Supported by the Hong Kong Paralympic Committee & Sports Association for the Physically Disabled, students enrolled in the Sports and Disability in the Hong Kong Chinese Media course interviewed 16 local para-athletes and compiled their striving stories into a book. The students also shared their works on social media platforms to promote inclusiveness and give the public a better understanding of disabled athletes. They also learnt more the role of sports reporting in bringing changes to the community.

Create Motion Graphic Video for promoting Gas Safety

Students who attended the Motion Graphic Design course produced a series of short motion graphic videos that deliver public education messages for several local organisations, including The Hong Kong and China Gas Company Limited (Towngas), the Hospital Authority, Stewards Hong Kong and the Division of Nursing Education at HKBU’s School of Continuing Education. One of the videos, entitled Ambassador of Gas Safety, aims to educate children aged 10 or below on how to deal with a possible case of gas leakage.

Other Learning Experiences

Journalism students co-produce news shows with worldwide partners

A group of International Journalism students participated in the international news project Global Campus Studio Live, which is initiated by Ryerson University in Canada. They worked with peers from six overseas universities and virtually co-produced a series of online newscasts. These newscasts consisted of multiple shows put together by media students from around the globe, including Canada, India, South Africa, the Netherlands, the US and the UK, under the theme “Let’s Talk Racism”. Different areas such as history and context; education work and media; current events and personal stories were addressed.

Rwanda Reporting Trip

Journalism students visited Rwanda in 2019 to report on how the small Central African country is rebuilding and repairing since the 1994 genocide. They produced a multimedia report project on the country’s efforts in handling genocide education and commemoration, as well as animal conservation among many other stories.

Student Exchange

Looking for a life-changing experience? All undergraduate students are eligible to apply for one or two semesters of exchange after at least one full year at UGC‐funded programmes at HKBU. International Office limits applicants to those with 2.5 GPA or higher. Students can visit International Office website for more information.

At School of Communication we aim to provide every student with an opportunity to study abroad. The School offers Exchange Sponsorship to support students go for exchange studies, click here for details. There are also a number of Exchange Scholarships administered through the School and International Office.


Student Workshops

San Po Yan
The Young Reporter
The Young Agency
MediArtist

Student Society

There is also the lively School-wide undergraduate students organization - Communication Society, which organizes extra-curricular activities such as study tours, academic week, sports competition and social functions. They also run the CommonSense, an online platform to showcase the creativity and ideas of students.


Lee Shau Kee Communication and
Visual Arts Building
5 Hereford Road, Kowloon Tong
Kowloon, Hong Kong
Map

T : 3411 8154
F : 3411 7375
E : comd@hkbu.edu.hk
© 2022 Copyright
School of Communication
Hong Kong Baptist University
All rights reserved

Privacy Policy

學生生活

在傳理學院的學習生活多彩多姿:學生除了在講課和導修課吸收知識以外,更可透過校內/外實習、學術會議、嘉賓講座、國際合作項目、遊學團和交流計劃等活動,增廣見聞,開拓視野。本科課程的各個專修均設有實習工作坊,讓學生學以致用,包括編製實驗報紙、營運網上廣播新聞電台、策劃和推展宣傳活動,以及籌辦數碼藝術展覽等。此外,傳理學會聯繫學院本科學生,並舉辦眾多不同性質的活動,例如迎新營、學術週、體育比賽、歌唱比賽和學術交流團等,促進同學之間的交流。

在 #浸大傳理學院,學習機會無處不在。


服務學習

撰寫香港殘疾運動員故事

獲香港殘疾人奧委會暨傷殘人士體育協會支持,修讀「香港中文媒體的體育新聞與殘疾運動」課程的學生,訪問了16位本地殘疾運動員,並將他們的克服種種挑戰的勵志故事結集成書出版,並於社交媒體專頁分享,以宣揚社會共融理念,及讓公眾更加了解殘疾運動員的生活。學生也從中學習到體育新聞在推動社會改變的角色。

製作有趣短片傳遞媒氣安全教育信息

修讀「動態圖形設計」課程的學生,為本地多間機構製作了一系列動態圖形短片,向不同受眾傳遞公眾教育信息,包括香港中華煤氣有限公司(煤氣公司)、醫院管理局、香港神託會及浸大持續教育學院護理教育部。其中一條短片名為「煤氣安全小先鋒」,目的是教育10歲或以下的小朋友如何處理煤氣洩漏。

其他學習體驗

新聞系學生與全球夥伴製作新聞節目

新聞系國際新聞專修學生,參與由加拿大懷爾遜大學發起的國際學生媒體網絡「Global Campus Studio Live」,與六所海外大學的學生合力製作一系列網上廣播新聞節目。他們與來自加拿大、印度、南非、荷蘭、美國和英國媒體專業的學生,製作多個以探討種族主義為主題的新聞專輯。內容圍繞歷史與背景、教育工作與傳媒、時事和人物故事等不同範疇。

盧旺達採訪團

在2019年,新聞系學生前往盧旺達採訪,了解這個非洲中部小國經歷1994年種族大屠殺後如何重建和修復。他們製作了一個多媒體報道專輯,題材包括盧旺達處理有關大屠殺的教育和悼念工作,以及當地的動物保育措施和其他更多故事。


學生海外交流

在尋找一個改變人生的經歷?所有傳理學院本科(獲大學教資會資助的學位課程)的學生,在修讀課程滿一年後,均合資格申請到海外交流,為期一個或兩個學期。國際事務處列明申請者的學業成績平均積點(GPA)必須達2.5或以上。學生可瀏覽國際事務處網站獲取更多最新資料。

傳理學院為合資格的學生提供海外交流資助,按此了解詳情。此外,學院和國際事務處也有提供海外交流奬學金


學生工作坊

新報人
The Young Reporter
新公關廣告社
新畫人

學生學會

傳理學會由傳理學院本科學生運作。學會不時舉辦各項課外活動,例如交流團、學術週、體育比賽和社交活動等。學會更開設網上媒體平台CommonSense,展示同學們的創意和點子。


香港九龍塘禧福道5號
李兆基傳理視藝樓
地圖

T : 3411 8154
F : 3411 7375
E : comd@hkbu.edu.hk
© 2024 Copyright
School of Communication
Hong Kong Baptist University
All rights reserved

私隱政策