News and Events

Updated: 5 November 2018

Eight Pulitzer Prize winners share their insights and experiences at HKBU Journalism workshop

The School of Communication’s Department of Journalism invited eight winners of the Pulitzer Prize, the media industry’s most prestigious award in the US, to share their insights with University members, students, media professionals and the public at its eighth Pulitzer Prize Winners Workshop from 22 to 26 October.

The eight Pulitzer Prize winners included three journalists who were responsible for award-winning articles about #METOO, the campaign against sexual harassment and abuse, in 2018.

Two reporters who received the Panama Papers last year and were involved in the investigation and reporting, as well as a data journalist behind The Boston Globe’s “Spotlight” team, also shared their award-winning stories with participants.

The eight winners are as follows:

Ms Stephanie McCrummen, member of 2018 Investigative Reporting winning team
Ms Julia Moskin, member of 2018 Public Service winning team
Ms Kim Severson, member of 2018 Public Service winning team
Mr Bastian Obermayer, member of 2017 Explanatory Reporting winning team
Mr Frederik Obermaier, member of 2017 Explanatory Reporting winning team
Professor Jonathan Kaufman, winner of 1984 Local Investigative Specialized Reporting and oversaw Bloomberg’s 2015 Pulitzer Prize Explanatory Reporting
Mr Josh Haner, winner of 2014 Feature Photography
Professor Matt Carroll, member of 2003 Public Service winning team

Professor Matt Carroll, one of the eight winners, shares his experiences with students and faculty.



Communication and Visual Arts Building
5 Hereford Road, Kowloon Tong
Kowloon, Hong Kong

T : 3411 8154
F : 3411 7375
E :
© 2017 Copyright
School of Communication
Hong Kong Baptist University
All rights reserved

Privacy Policy