News and Events

Updated: 11 July 2017

Academy of Film Seeds Project presents awards for 6th Digital Short Video Competition

The “INNO-Action! HKBU Academy of Film Seeds Project” held a ceremony today (11 July) for the winning entries in its 6th Digital Short Video Competition, presenting a total of 18 awards for outstanding short dramas and documentaries produced by local secondary school students.

This year’s Best Drama Award goes to Miss Tiffany Ng from the Chinese International School for her entry 媽媽. Tiffany also won the Best Director and Best Editing awards. Mr Liu Xiaohu from the Pui Kiu Middle School won awards for Best Director, Best Screenplay, Best Actor and the Jury’s Award (Drama) for his Who Stole My Dream. Mr Li Sihao from St Francis Xavier’s College won the Special Mention -- Best “Cult” Drama Award for his Chicken vs Predator. Please click here for the list of winners.

Today’s presentation ceremony was officiated by Executive Director of of HKSAR Government’s Efficiency Unit Mr Ng Chi-keung; Associate Director of HKBU Academy of Film Mr Man Shu-sum; director and scriptwriter Mr Au Man-kit; director, scriptwriter and actress Ms Mo Lai. They served as the judges for the competition.

Guests presenting the awards at the ceremony included the four officiating guests, as well as veterans from the film and TV sectors, namely Mr Dean Siu, Mr Tong Kay-ming, Mr Pao Wai-chung, Ms Annike Pong, Mr Pong Hun-yiu, Mr Henry Chung, Mr Mak Chun-hung and Mr Ko Kong-ling, founder of the online channel “Pomato”.

The 6th Seeds Project attracted more than 1,000 students from over 110 secondary schools to take part in its various activities. The Digital Short Video Competition, one of the highlights of the Project, received 101 submissions, comprising 80 dramas and 21 documentaries. An adjudication panel formed by three directors, Mr Au Man-kit, Ms Mo Lai and Ms Heiward Mak, decided on the winners of 16 awards, while winners of the remaining two awards, Most Popular Online Drama and Most Popular Online Documentary, were selected by the public through online voting.

A Meeting with Judges session was held immediately after the awards ceremony. Directors cum judges Mr Au Man-kit and Ms Mo Lai shared their thoughts on the overall standard of the entries.

The Seeds Project, with the aim of stimulating secondary school students’ creativity, was initiated and developed by the Academy of Film of the HKBU School of Communication and has been sponsored by Create Hong Kong of the Hong Kong Government since the Project started in 2011.

Mr Liu Xiaohu (right) wins awards for Best Director, Best Screenplay, Best Actor and the Jury’s Award (Drama) for his Who Stole My Dream.

Mr Man Shu-sum says that the Digital Short Video Competition received a total of 101 submissions with professional standard

Communication and Visual Arts Building
5 Hereford Road, Kowloon Tong
Kowloon, Hong Kong

T : 3411 8154
F : 3411 7375
E :
© 2017 Copyright
School of Communication
Hong Kong Baptist University
All rights reserved

Privacy Policy